Aurora District

Article Index

Cub Scout Resources:

Structure of the Program

This is the time to set the stage for a Cub Scout's lifetime of interest and curiosity about STEM fields. The Nova and Supernova awards are available to Wolf, Bear, and Webelos Scouts. Counselors should understand that the awards are optional and meant to be earned only after a Cub Scout has achieved his rank.

There are seven Nova awards, four for Science, and on for each of the T-E-M areas, and each Cub Scout & Webelo Scout can earn all seven. Completion of any Nova award earns the Scout the right to wear the Nova award patch. Completion of each additional Nova award is recognized by a pi (π) pin placed on the patch.  Each of these awards builds on STEM-related adventures, involves hands-on activities, and often includes a field trip.

The seven Nova awards for Cub Scouts and Webelo Scouts are:
Click on the graphic to open a worksheet, or the Nova Guidebook.

Cub Scout Nova Awards Guide book (includes Supernova program)

There are two Supernova awards.

The Cub Scout Supernova award can be earned by Wolf or Bear Cub Scouts. The Webelos Supernova award can be earned by Webelos Scouts.  Each boy may earn both Supernova awards, as long as he is registered in the appropriate program at the time he completes the requirements.  The Supernova awards recognize superior achievement in the STEM fields and require significantly more effort by the Cub Scout than a nova awards.  For Supernova Awards, a Super Nova Awards Mentor (who serves much like a Boy Scout’s merit badge counselor) is required. Completion of a Supernova award earns the Cub Scout or Webelos Scout the right to wear the Supernova award medal. Each of these awards involves STEM-related achievements (for Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts), achievements (for Webelos Scouts), and extensive independent work.

Click on the name for a worksheet to help with the award.  Always consult the current book for any changes.  You must use the most current book.