Mountain Territory Awards Night and Iron Spoon – June 6th 2024

ALL FAMILIES ARE INVITED TO AWARDS NIGHT!  Join us and show your support and appreciation for our Scouting volunteers.  You are also welcome to participate in the Iron Spoon Challenge or bring a pot luck dish if you wish.

NOMINATIONS DUE NOW!  AWARDS CEREMONY AND IRON SPOON CHALLENGE are on JUNE 6th.  As a volunteer driven organization, Boy Scouts of America strives to recognize its outstanding volunteers for Unit and District Awards. We need your help in providing recognition to our many outstanding volunteers. Please check out all 12 awards.

Please send your nominations asap!  Thank you!!

How to Nominate

Deadline: Nominations are due now.
Nomination Form:
For questions please contact Carol Cordray (
District Award of Merit 565x560

Presentation Ceremony and Iron Spoon

Award recipients will be announced at the June 6th Iron Spoon and Awards Ceremony.

Date: June 6th 2024
Location: Issaquah Sportsmens Club, 23605 S.E. Evans St. Issaquah WA

Iron Spoon!
Prepare your Dutch ovens for the Iron Spoon challenge! At the Mountain Territory Awards ceremony, bring your favorite appetizer, main dish, or dessert recipe to be cooked and judged against your scouting peers.   The secret ingredient is your scouting spirit.  Can’t wait to see your secret recipes.

3:00PM – Iron Spoon Challenge!  Cooking anytime from 3pm-7pm.
7:00PM – Iron Spoon tasting and voting (note: time updated to 7pm)
7:15PM – Mountain Territory Announcements
7:30PM – Mountain Territory Awards
For questions, please contact Carol at

Awards for Nomination

District Award of Merit

Scout of All Trades

Cub Scout Leader of the Year
Scouts BSA Leader of the Year
Venture Leader of the Year
Explorer Leader of the Year

Alpine District
Alpine OA Youth Leader of the Year
Soaring Eagle Award
Alpine Membership Growth

Mt Tahoma District
Mt Tahoma OA Youth Leader of the Year
Spirit of the Mountain
Mt Tahoma Membership Growth

Iron Spoon
Main Course

District Award of Merit History

Year Recipients
2022-2023 Craig Murray, Brent Burtness, and Mark Martinez
2021-2022 Krista Holmes, David Bader
2020-2021 Carol Cordray, Russell Schmidt
2019-2020 Erik O’Granning, Lesa Widner
2018-2019 Ken Fischer, Gary Rudolph, Kat Ressler, Dave Kristensen
2017-2018 James Brent Schmidt, Laurie Batemen, Gerald “Jerry” Carlson
2016-2017 Margot Inman, Tom Mechler, Todd Brown
2015-2016 Paul Meehan, Ray Reed, Justin Kay, Roger Pomeroy
2014-2015 Eric DePoule, Mike Inman
2013-2014 Tad Englund, Deborah Bernard, Michael Pacholec, Gary Yukish
2012-2013 John Eberhardt, Julie Faber, Renee Zimmerman
2011-2012 Kristine Millett, Marita Lane, Jamie Gunter
2010-2011 John Dietz, Ken Agoglia, Dave Shields, Tim Dunn, David Swan
2009-2010 Tom Coonradt, John Eberhardt, Dave Wilding, Wendy McBride
2008-2009 John Hansen, Joann Mockford, Julie Reed, Mahria DePaulo, Steve Johnson
2007-2008 Lonnie Millett, Walter Beauchamp, Doug McClelland, Wallace Skidmore
2006-2007 Steve O’Connell, Jeff Nye, Dave Young, Robert Tanner
2005-2006 Brian Hamilton, Jeff Craig, Bob Jones, Sheri Zucker
2004-2005 Charles (Mac) Campbell, Cherie Gritsch
2003-2004 Larry Johnson
2002-2003 Janet Ellinger, Lisa Bialeck, Joan McMahon
2001-2002 Peggy Aydelotte, Timothy Ham
2000-2001 Diana Clark, Dudley Hart, Torben Hollingsworth
1999-2000 Lary Clark, Greg Ellinger, Janet Bredl
1998-1999 David Plowman, Marcus Diltz
1997-1998 Kathy Smith, Philip Boynton