Seattle Territory Recognition Banquet

June 13th 6:30 p.m. Gathering & 7:00 p.m. Program at Fairview Church 

Bring an appetizer or dessert to share. 

$10 suggested donation to pay for awards and engravings 

Nominate folks that are making Scouting Awesome. Send Nominations to John Padgett by May 31, 2024.  

Awards include: 

Golden Thunderbird and Shooting Star 

Attaboy for local units to recognize. Excellence in local unit leaders who go above and beyond to provide opportunities for Scouts. 

Robert & Margaret Story Family Award  

This award started in 1994. It is given, in memory of this couple, to a family which has demonstrated their dedication to the Scouting program, their community, and family. On December 26, 1993, at the age 96 Mr. Story quietly passed away. One week later, his beloved wife, Margaret died. Both were involved in the restoration of Japan after WWII. Bob as director of the American Chamber of Commerce in Japan and Margaret as a teacher in the American School. Both were active in the Tokyo Union Church. They started Pack and Troop 6 in the Far East Council. They returned to Seattle in 1973 and Bob was the International Scouting representative on the Council Executive Board and Margaret a Cub Roundtable leader. Both earned Wood Badge beads and received Silver Beavers.   

George Ledger – Life of Service Award  

Started in 1995, it is given to a Scouter who exemplifies what George Ledger stood for in his life of leadership. George, along with his late wife Frances, served with energy and love with Troop 151, our district, and council for more than 50 years. He was a Cubmaster, Scoutmaster, troop committee chair, held numerous district and council positions as well as participated in both National and World Jamborees. His passion was training, and he served as roundtable leader and was an advocate for Woodbadge. A generous financial supporter, he provided funds for two flag poles and the climbing tower at Camp Parsons in memory of his wife and son. At Parsons, he was often a visiting commissioner. He received the Silver Beaver and George Meany award. He loved Scouts and continued his interest, support, friendship always ready with a Scout story and homemade cookies well into his 80’s. George Ledger Died on December 24,1996, he was 86 years old.  

Good Turn Award   

Since 1980 this award has been an opportunity for the District Executive to recognize a person who has gone the extra mile in supporting Scouting in our district. It is a rotating award. Each year the recipient’s name is added to the large plaque.  

Thomas Kubota Award 

For someone that made a big impact on the district. Tom was a leader in the 80s who saved Thunderbird by getting Scouters involved at the district level. He was a leader in Troop, 252. 

Frank Nishimura Award 

Frank was a Volunteer in Chief Seattle Council’s early Scoutreach program in the late ’90s and early 2000s who had a strong mission to provide Scouting opportunities for all youth. 

Hideo Hoshide Award 

The “dinosaur” award, for a longtime Scouter. Hoshide was a leader with Troop 53 

Janet Nakano Award 

Legendary Scouter in Thunderbird District and Cub Scouting’s biggest local proponent received the Hoshide and Kubota award as well as the Silver Beaver. Janet Passed in 2018 and her Obituary asked that donations be given to the Council for a Pinewood Derby Track fund. Many units in Thunderbird District have used that track. 

Journey to Excellence 

Journey to Excellence is the Boy Scouts of America program to help Packs, Troops, Crews, Ships and Posts to plan, monitor and evaluate their performance and their ability to serve youth. Using performance measurements that are known to make for a successful Scouting program.  

District Award of Merit  

The District Award of Merit is the highest recognition given by our district for excellence in service to youth. It is the district equivalent to the Silver Beaver. A district nominating committee composed of Seattle Territory Silver Beaver Awardees selects the recipients. 


2023’s Recipients Included: 



Most Active Pack Award  

Pack 144 

Outstanding Scouter Cub Scout Pack Aurora 

Tyler Dittman 

Outstanding Scouter Cub Scout Pack Duwamish 

Molly Gorski 

Outstanding Scouter Troop for Girls Aurora 

Anne O’Neill 

Outstanding Scouter Troop for Boys Aurora 

Dwight Thompson 

Outstanding Scouter Venturing Crews 

Dale Rae 

Outstanding Scouter Seattle Territory 

Deedee Miller 

Outstanding Cubmaster Aurora 

Phil Roylance 

Outstanding Cubmaster Duwamish 

Jason Fredette 

Outstanding Scoutmaster Troops for Boys Aurora 

Doxey Kemp 

Outstanding Scoutmaster Troops for Boys Duwamish 

Aaron Tate 

Outstanding Scoutmaster Troops for Girls Aurora 

Marc Todd 

Outstanding Crew Advisor Aurora 

Patrick McCann 

Unit of the Year  

Pack 007 

Unit of the Year  

Pack 252 

Golden Thunderbird 

Various Units 

Shooting Star 


Bob and Margaret Story Award  

Cathy and David Taflin 

George Ledger Life of Service Award 

Darcy Niedermeyer 

Good Turn Award 

Tom Ranken 

Thomas Kubota Award 

Jason Takamaru 

Frank Nishimura Award 

Reika Yoshino 

Hideo Hoshide award, aka the “dinosaur” 

Tim Louie 

Janet Nakano award 

Rob Ketcherside 

Scouters Training Award for Cub Scouting 

Rob Ketcherside 

Scouters Training Award for Cub Scouting 

Martin “Stash” Slabinski 

Den Leader Training Award 

Katherine Brownlee 

Unit Leader Award of Merit 

Corey Murata 

Arrowhead – Unit Commissioners 


Arrowhead – District Commissioner  

Stephen Schweyen 

Unit Commissioner of the Year – Seattle Territory 

Stephen Pierce 

Journey to Excellence Units 


District Award of Merit 

Kat Randolph 

District Award of Merit 

Dennis Harris 

District Award of Merit 

Patrick McCann 

District Award of Merit 

Charles McElearney 

District Award of Merit 

Kelly Whitehead 

Duwamish Recognition Kimberly Kanouse