Alpine District Awards and Iron Spoon – June 2nd 2022

NOMINATIONS DUE MAY 27th!  CEREMONY AND IRON SPOON CHALLENGE on JUNE 2nd!  As a volunteer driven organization, Boy Scouts of America strives to recognize its outstanding volunteers for Unit and District Awards. We need your help in providing recognition to our many outstanding volunteers. Please check out all 13 awards!

How to Nominate

Nominations are due no later than May 27th 2022.
Nomination Form:
For questions please contact Carol Cordray (

Presentation Ceremony and Iron Spoon!

Join us June 2nd!  Award recipients will be announced at the Alpine District Awards Ceremony on June 2nd 2022 at Our Savior Lutheran Church, 745 Front Street South, IssaquahNote this is one week earlier than the normal Roundtable date due to Camporee starting on June 10th. There will be no meeting on June 9th. Join us June 2nd!.

Iron Spoon!
Prepare your Dutch ovens for the Iron Spoon challenge! June 2nd at the Alpine District Awards ceremony, bring your favorite appetizer, main dish, or dessert recipe to be cooked and judged against your scouting peers.   The secret ingredient is your scouting spirit!  Can’t wait to see your secret recipes!

6:00PM – Iron Spoon Challenge!
7:00PM – Roundtable Announcements
7:15PM – Alpine District Awards Ceremony!

2022 Awardees!

Presentation: Alpine District Awards Ceremony Slides


District Award Of Merit: Krista Holmes, David Bader
Soaring Eagle Award: Tim Holmes
Alpiner of the Year: Kirk Albrecht
Cub Scout Leader of year: Michael Repperger
Scouts BSA Leader of the Year: Les Coughran
Venture Leader of Year: Kris Hoffman
OA Youth Leader of Year: Peter Fornia
Pack Membership: Pack 551
Troop Membership Growth: Troop 8498, Troop 5749
Pack Advancement: Pack 571
Troop Advancement: Troop 8498

Iron Spoon Winners:
Appetizer: Cornbread! Brent Schmidt
Main Course: Goulash! Gary Rudolph
Dessert: Cinnamon Rolls! Mikey Inman


Cub Scout Leader of the Year
Scouts BSA Leader of the Year
Venture Leader of the Year
Explorer Leader of the Year

District Commitee Volunteer:
Alpiner of the Year (Selected by District Key 3)
Soaring Eagle Award New!
District Award of Merit (up to 2)
Roundtable Champion of the Year (District Commissioner Selects)
Commissioner Champion of the Year (District Commissioner Selects)
Order of the Arrow Leader of the Year (OA Chapter Chief Selects)

Unit Achievement Awards:
Membership Growth (District Executive, Based on JTE)
Advancement (District Executive, Based on JTE)
Camping Program (District Executive, Based on JTE)

New! We are adding a new award this year called the Soaring Eagle Award. Qualifications are as follows: This award recognizes an individual who has been a true mentor and model of leadership to the ideals of scouting. Their passion and dedication has left a lasting impact on Scouts and their community; instilling a legacy of spirit and excellence in their unit.

Previous Alpine District Award of Merit winners:

Year Recipients
2021-2022 Krista Holmes, David Bader
2020-2021 Carol Cordray, Russell Schmidt
2019-2020 Erik O’Granning, Lesa Widner
2018-2019 Ken Fischer, Gary Rudolph, Kat Ressler, Dave Kristensen
2017-2018 James Brent Schmidt, Laurie Batemen, Gerald “Jerry” Carlson
2016-2017 Margot Inman, Tom Mechler, Todd Brown
2015-2016 Paul Meehan, Ray Reed, Justin Kay, Roger Pomeroy
2014-2015 Eric DePoule, Mike Inman
2013-2014 Tad Englund, Deborah Bernard, Michael Pacholec, Gary Yukish
2012-2013 John Eberhardt, Julie Faber, Renee Zimmerman
2011-2012 Kristine Millett, Marita Lane, Jamie Gunter
2010-2011 John Dietz, Ken Agoglia, Dave Shields, Tim Dunn, David Swan
2009-2010 Tom Coonradt, John Eberhardt, Dave Wilding, Wendy McBride
2008-2009 John Hansen, Joann Mockford, Julie Reed, Mahria DePaulo, Steve Johnson
2007-2008 Lonnie Millett, Walter Beauchamp, Doug McClelland, Wallace Skidmore
2006-2007 Steve O’Connell, Jeff Nye, Dave Young, Robert Tanner
2005-2006 Brian Hamilton, Jeff Craig, Bob Jones, Sheri Zucker
District Award of Merit 565x560